First Issues - 1886 to 1889

page 12.7

French Madagascar, cont.

Nossi-Bé 1894 SG44 Sc32 Diego-Suarez 1890 SG6 Sc6 Anjouan 1892 SG1 Sc1 Mayotte 1892 SG1 Sc1 Sainte-Marie de Madagascar 1894 SG1 Sc1 Grand Comoro 1897 SG1 Sc1
Nossi-Bé Diego-Suarez Anjouan Mayotte Sainte-Marie de Madagascar Grand Comoro
[1st June 1889]
1894 SG44 Sc32
[25th January 1890]
1890 SG6 Sc6
1st November 1892
SG1 Sc1
1st November 1892
SG1 Sc1
1st April 1894
SG1 Sc1
1st November 1897
SG1 Sc1

1997 SG Sc75 2002 SG Sc159 1997 SG Sc-C1

The early Nossi-Bé overprints are costly and so the first real stamp is shown. The same applies to Diego-Suarez, but in this case, rather than a standard design, a set of four quaint, locally-produced stamps was issued (expensive too, so mine is probably one of the 'very good forgeries'). Mayotte started issuing stamps again in 1997 and the releases have included two Marianne overprints and an airmail.


Swaziland 1889
SG10 Sc1 Swaziland 1935 SG21 Sc20 Swaziland 1933 SG-D1 Sc-J1
18th Oct 1889
SG10 Sc1
1935 SG21 Sc20
Silver Jubilee Issue
Post Due
1933 SG-D1 Sc-J1

Southeast Africa, administered by Transvaal from 1894 and by the British High Commissioner for South Africa from 1906. It became a British Protectorate in 1933 and gained independence in 1968.

Swaziland 1933 SG11 Sc10  
British Protectorate Independence
1933 SG11 Sc10 1968 SG Sc139

Occupation Issues and Offices Abroad

These are dealt with collectively in a separate display. Only the French Madagascar issues are of note in this period.


page written January 2014